SmithGroup Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Scholarship Program

We have created the SmithGroup Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Scholarship Program to support and mentor students from historically underrepresented demographics in architecture, interior design, planning, landscape architecture and engineering.  The program’s mission is to provide these students with the opportunity to attain their professional goals while advancing the architecture/engineering/construction (AEC) industry and improving the built environment.

This scholarship includes a one-time award of $6,000 to offset the student's tuition at their current academic institution (5 scholarships are awarded each year). Additionally, the scholarship recipients serve as paid summer interns at SmithGroup offices across the United States (internship is a program requirement). 


Eugene Green University of Maryland Equity Diversity Scholarship Winner SmithGroup 2019 Architecture

2019 scholarship winner and University of Maryland student Eugene Green


  • Applicants must be current undergraduate (at least a junior level standing) or graduate students in an accredited architecture, interior design, planning, landscape architecture or engineering program in the United States.  Must still be an enrolled student when scholarship award is applied to tuition in fall 2020.
  • Candidates should have a current GPA of 3.0 or better.
  • Candidates who are of Black/African American, Hispanic, Alaskan Native or American Indian, and Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander are encouraged to apply.
  • Candidates must be legally authorized to work in the U.S.

Prior to starting your application, please have the following items available:

  • Resume
  • Link to online portfolio (for architecture and landscape architecture majors)
  • Answer to the question "Describe the importance of diversity in the design world" (in 200 words or less)


EDI Scholarship Winners

2019 Scholarship Winners

Top from left: Ashton Harrell - Yale University, Eugene Green - University of Maryland, Mary Pinpin - Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Bottom from left: Nancy Valenzuela - Texas A&M University, Oluwasubomi Adenuga - University of North Texas 


Applications for the 2020-2021 academic year are no longer being accepted.