SmithGroup Exploring Post

For over 40 years our Detroit office has run an Exploring Post program that provides high school students with the opportunity to "explore" the architectural and engineering professions while participating in hands-on activities alongside professional architects and engineers within SmithGroup.  Through workshop meetings at our office in the Guardian Building, the Exploring Post enhances the participants’ enthusiasm and passion in their field of interest and encourages the career awareness required for their success as they advance to college.  

This year’s 2021-2022 season has been reimagined to accommodate current health and safety precautions, but we have a remarkable program planned and invite interested students to participate! Anyone is free to join at any time within the program year. See our schedule for future workshop dates.

Exploring Post Fall Workshop Schedule

 

COLLEGE INFORMATION SESSION

RECORDED
NOVEMBER 5, 2020
6PM - 8PM

UNIVERSITY OF DETROIT MERCY
Dan Pitera, piteradw [at] udmercy.edu

LAWRENCE TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY
Christopher Stefani, cstefani [at] ltu.edu
Filza Walters
Keith Kowalkowski, kkowalkow [at] ltu.edu

UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN
Diana Friend, taubmancollegeadmissions [at] umich.edu

UNIVERSITY OF CINCINNATI
Gavin Bonar, gavin.bonar [at] uc.edu

 

 

INTRODUCTION TO ARCHITECTURE

RECORDED
NOVEMBER 19, 2020
6PM - 7PM

ARCHITECTURE
Abi Aragon, abi.aragon [at] smithgroup.com
Bryan Seef, bryan.seef [at] smithgroup.com

 

INTRODUCTION TO ENGINEERING

RECORDED
DECEMBER 3, 2020
6PM - 8PM

CIVIL ENGINEERING
Kelli O'Brien, kelli.obrien [at] smithgroup.com
Anna Strong, anna.strong [at] smithgroup.com
Steven Thomas, steven.thomas [at] smithgroup.com

STRUCTURAL ENGINEERING
Susie Chung, susie.chung [at] smithgroup.com

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
Kevin Hertig, kevin.hertig [at] smithgroup.com
Rizka Aprilia, rizka.aprilia [at] smithgroup.com

ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
Robert Melton, robert.melton [at] smithgroup.com

LIGHTING DESIGN
Maggie Hilgenkamp, maggie.hilgenkamp [at] smithgroup.com
Maria Del Castillo Berrio, maria.delcastillo [at] smithgroup.com

For more Q&A, click here